Weekend boxing preview by Dallas Owens

9/26/20

DAZN: 2:00PM CST/ 3:00PM EST

Mairis Briedis (26-1, 19KOs) vs Yuniel Dorticos (24-1, 22KOs)

Final Round of the WBSS Cruiserweight Tournament, as well as the IBF World Title. Oleksandr Usyk (17-0, 13KOs) won this tournament in 2018 becoming undisputed then vacated to move up to the heavyweight division. This will be our first chance since then to see who is at the very top of the cruiserweight division.

ESPN+1:30PM CST/ 2:30PM EST

David Oliver Joyce (12-1, 9KOs) vs Ionut Baluta (13-2, 2KOs)

Charlie Edwards (15-1, 6KOs) vs Kyle Williams (11-2, 3KOs)

Josh Taylor (16-0, 12KOs) vs Apinum Khongsong (16-0. 13KOs) for WBA & IBF Super Lightweight World Title

Josh Taylor must defend his WBA and IBF World Titles against relatively unknown mandatory, Apinum Khongsong, in order to get the chance to unify all the belts at SuperLightweight against WBC and WBO champion, Jose Ramirez (26-0, 17KOs).

Showtime 6:00PM CST/ 7:00PM EST

John Riel Casimero (29-4, 20KOs) vs Duke Micah (24-0, 19KOs) for WBO Bantamweight World Title

Brandon Figueroa (20-0-1, 15KOs) vs Damien Vazquez (15-1-1, 8KOs) for WBA Super Bantamweight World Title

Jermall Charlo (30-0, 22KOs) vs Sergiy Derevyanchenko (13-2, 10KOs)WBC Middleweight World Title

INTERMISSION

Daniel Roman (27-3-1, 10KOs) vs Juan Carlos Payano (21-3, 9KOs)

Luis Nery (30-0, 24KOs) vs Aaron Alameda (25-0, 13KOs) for Vacant WBC Super Bantamweight World Title

Jermell Charlo (33-1, 17KOs) vs Jeison Rosario (20-1-1, 14KOs) forWBC, IBF, IBO, WBA Super Welterweight World Titles

Jermall Charlo gets the chance to prove he’s a legitimate champion and threat at middleweight against proven challenger Sergiy Derevyanchenko. This will be Derevyanchenko’s third chance to become a world champion since taking his only losses against Daniel Jacobs (36-3, 30KOs) and Gennadiy Golovkin (40-1-1, 35KOs). Both fights were highly contested, and many people think he won one, the other, or both.

Jermell Charlo and Jeison Rosario get a chance to become the undisputed champion in the deeply talented 154 lb weight division. Whoever wins will have their hands full with the many great fighters at super welterweight who want a chance at all of the belts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *